Awards for our research

Academic honors, prizes and awards are an important component in recognizing and publicizing excellent research. The recognition of the award winners is thus a contribution to the reputation of the TU Munich as a research-strong educational institution. They make it clear at what a high, international level research is conducted at the TUM School of Life Sciences.

Awards for outstanding scientific achievements are presented by foundations, associations and societies as well as by scientific associations or magazines and by politicians at the state, federal or EU level. In addition, excellent scientists can also be honored through memberships in scientific academies or in political committees.

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Medal

2022: Prof. Dr. Julijana Gjorgjieva
2020: Prof. Dr. Dirk Haller
2019: Prof. Dr. Michael W. Pfaffl
2016: Prof. Dr. Ingrid Kögel-Knabner
2014: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Küster

Further award winners

TUM Sustainability Award

2020: Prof. Dr. Anja Rammig

Further award winners

Max Schönleutner Medal

2021 Prof. Dr. Kurt-Jürgen Hülsbergen
2016 Prof. Dr. Chris-Carolin Schön

Further award winners

Recent prizes and awards

Award, Research | 22.10.2021 Caroline Gutjahr receives the Adam Kondorosi Award of the Academia Europaea

Caroline Gutjahr has been Professor of Plant Genetics at the TUM School of Life Sciences since 2017 (Image: Benz/TUM).

The TUM professor of Plant Genetics is recognized for her outstanding achievements in the field of plant science. The Adam Kondorosi early career Award by the Academia Europaea recognizes early career scholars for outstanding...[more]

Award, Campus, Research | 11.10.2021 Prof. Dr. Bertil Andersson is new honorary professor of the TUM School of Life Sciences

Prof. Andersson receives honorary doctorate

The former president of Nanyang Technological University and biochemist Prof. Dr. Bertil Andersson (CV) received the honorary award TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professorship (DAP) and is thus honorary professor - both at the...[more]

Displaying results 9 to 10 out of 23
9 ERC grants have already been obtained by researchers at the TUM School of Life Sciences for their cutting-edge research at the European Research Council (ERC).

TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professors

The honorary title "TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professor" distinguishes leading international scientists who are working at other universities, advancing a scientific area, and developing long-term collaborations with their colleagues at TUM.

More TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professors

Honorary Doctors

For excellent scientific achievements, often also in recognition of their scientist’s outstanding lifetime achievements, numerous scientists of the TUM School of Life Sciences have been awarded the honorary dignity of a doctor:

  • Auwärter Konrad, Dipl.-Ing. (FH), Dr.-Ing. E.h.
  • Büchel Karl-Heinz, Prof. Dr.rer.nat., Dr.agr.h.c., Dr.rer.nat.h.c.
  • Karel Marcus, Prof. B.A., Drs. h.c., Dr.-Ing. E.h.
  • Meuser Friedrich, Dr.-Ing.
  • Nilsson-Björk Sven, Prof. Dr.phil.
  • Narziß Ludwig, Prof. Dr. agr.
  • Soltmann Dieter Hans, Dr.-Ing.

More Honorary Doctors of TUM